An Explanation of the Six Major Categories of Sushi

What is sushi? 

You need to have a fundamental understanding of what sushi is before you can have a handle on what you’re about to put in your mouth.
In many countries, sushi is now considered a popular kind of dish that can be bought in grocery shops as well as restaurants. It is believed to have originated in Japan and is regarded as a highly creative and skillful sort of cuisine that is produced in that nation.

Photo by

Raw and cooked fish, together with veggies and rice seasoned with vinegar, are the main components of sushi. Soy sauce, wasabi, and pickled ginger are typical condiments served on the side. The sushi we know today has changed considerably since it was first made.
Sushi originally referred to salty fish meals made with fermented rice across Asia. The Edo era marked a departure from the norm, but before to that this was the norm in Japan.
As time went on, sushi evolved into Edomae zushi, which is considerably closer to the modern sushi we know and love.
Modern sushi often consists of meat, fish, veggies, and rice seasoned with vinegar. The greatest features of both classic and contemporary preparation methods are included here.
You may also discover that you have a personal preference between traditional Japanese sushi and sushi prepared in the Western way.


Six primary categories of sushi

There are typically six different kinds of sushi available at any one restaurant. If you have a fundamental understanding of them, deciphering a menu should be considerably less of a challenge than it would be otherwise.

Detailed here are the six primary varieties of sushi and the ingredients that make each unique.


1. Sashimi

At sushi restaurants, sashimi is one of the most often ordered dishes.
Raw fish is cut into long, rectangular slices and served as sashimi. These slices are called hira-zukuri.
In addition, wasabi, soy sauce, and pickled ginger are often used as toppings for dishes.
Sashimi may be thought of as a disassembled version of traditional sushi rolls.


2. Nigiri

Nigiri is a kind of sushi that consists of rice that has been seasoned with vinegar and formed into shapes, which are then topped with thin slices of raw fish.
Nigiri is designed to be eaten with the hands because of its long and thin shape.
Nigiri sushi is not always prepared with raw fish; yet, many people prefer it because of its uncomplicated nature and the fact that it lets them experience the full range of tastes that the fish has to offer.


3. Chirashi

Chirashi literally translates to “scattered,” and the dish is very comparable to sashimi in many respects.
You are going to be presented with a dish of rice that has been seasoned with vinegar and will have raw fish pieces and a variety of other toppings on top of it.
The fish is often selected by the chef in order to provide you with an element of surprise.
Depending on the recipe, this meal may also include pieces of fruit and vegetables.


4. Maki

Maki is a kind of sushi that is rolled and then sliced into bite-sized pieces before being wrapped with nori.
The maki will include fillings that are wrapped in rice that has been seasoned with vinegar and nori on the outside.
Vegetables, seafood, or any other kind of meat may be used to make the stuffing.


5. Uramaki

Uramaki is quite similar to Maki, with the exception that the rice is placed on the outside of the nori instead of the inside. The filling will be encased in nori, which will then be wrapped.
This kind of sushi often comes with a variety of toppings and sauces that the individual pieces of sushi may be dipped into.


6. Temaki

Temaki are a kind of sushi roll in which the nori is rolled into a cone.
Foods including rice, veggies, and fish are stuffed within the cone. The same as doing a hand roll.
Typically, people use their hands to consume temaki since they are too big to eat with chopsticks.

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.


%d bloggers like this: